Uni Kuru Toga Review

The Uni Kuru Toga is a pencil that writes like a pen.

The Toga features a cylindrical rotating mechanism that rotates the lead each time you lift your pencil from the paper. This feature results in the lead staying perfectly sharp at all times instead of wearing down on a side and snapping.

I myself, used to using my Rotring 800+, had learned to rotate my pencil manually as I wrote, so when I first started using the Toga, I had to train myself to not rotate it on my own. After I had overcome this task, I fully realized the practicality of the Toga’s “Kuru Toga Engine.” With the mechanism eliminating the need for me to rotate the pencil manually, I was able to write for longer periods of time without my hand getting tired or sore. The Toga also produced more consistent lines that didn’t get thicker and thinner as I wrote.

The Toga has a few flaws to watch out for. Though it has no major flaws in my experience, there are a few things about it that can get a bit annoying.

  • The Erasers are painfully small and last for a very short amount of time
  • At first, the very slight up and down movement associated with the mechanism can feel unusual and be a bit annoying
  • The cheap plastic clip can break easily if pulled on or overextended

All in all, the Uni Kuru Toga is a great choice for non-pencil people who want a good all-around pencil for when the need arises. I would recommend it to anyone who needs a pencil for extensive writing or someone who has used primarily pens in the past.

Until next time,
John

The Uni-ball Kuru Toga Starter-Kit is available here

Photo Credits: The Pen Addict Blog

Uni Kuru Toga Review

Leave a Reply

